National Co-ordination of Art Library Resources

What we do

The National Co-ordination Committee aims to improve and extend co-ordination of art documentation resources at a national level, in particular by:

  • Initiating and/or taking responsibility for specific projects
  • Liaising with relevant organisations, projects and initiatives and contributing where appropriate
  • Working with other ARLIS committees, groups and working parties to ensure that ARLIS makes maximum use of IT developments in furthering its overall aims
  • Identifying appropriate funding sources for ARLIS co-operative initiatives
  • Carrying forward the realisable objectives enshrined in the Visual Arts Library and Information Plan (VALIP) report
  • Overseeing the maintenance, development and exploitation of the directory of art libraries in the UK and Ireland

Who we are

Wendy Fish (Chair)

Director
British Architectural Library, Royal Institute of British Architects
Email:wendy.fish@inst.riba.org
Tel: +44 (0)20 7307 3695

Elizabeth James (Secretary)

Senior Librarian 
National Art Library, Victoria and Albert Museum
Email:e.james@vam.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 7942 2393

Pat Christie

Director of Libraries and Academic Support Services
University of the Arts London
Email:p.christie@arts.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 7514 8071

Ann Sproat

Librarian
Henry Moore Institute
Email:ann@henry-moore.org
Tel: +44 (0)113 233 7656 

Represents LALIC (Leeds Art Libraries in Co-operation) http://leedsartlibraries.co.uk/ (alternates with Jayne Roberts)

Jane Bramwell

Head of Library, Archive and Collection Access
Tate
Email:jane.bramwell@tate.org.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 7887 8835

Antony Hopkins

Kilfinan Librarian, Head of Book, Witt and Conway Libraries
Courtauld Institute of Art
Email:antony.hopkins@courtauld.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 7848 2706

Represents MLAG (Museums, Libraries and Archivists Group) http://mlagblog.org/

Jayne Roberts

Assistant Librarian
Leeds College of Art
Email:jayne.roberts@leeds-art.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 113 202 8095

Represents LALIC (Leeds Art Libraries in Co-operation) http://leedsartlibraries.co.uk/ (alternates with Ann Sproat)

Sarah Currant

Reader Services Librarian
BFI Reuben Library, British Film Institute
Email:sarah.currant@bfi.org.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 7957 4824

Duncan Chappell

Academic Liaison Librarian
Glasgow School of Art
Email:d.chappell@gsa.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)141 353 4708

Represents Scottish Visual Arts Group https://scottishvisualartsgroup.wordpress.com/

Cathy Williams

Head of Collections & Audience Insight, Archives Sector Development
The National Archives
cathy.williams@nationalarchives.gsi.gov.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3908 9454

 

We are sad to note the death of committee member Chris Michaelides in May 2017. Chris was an art historian and bibliographer, and the British Library’s Curator of Italian and Modern Greek, who also chaired Italian Library Study Group. His expertise and amiability were greatly appreciated by all who knew him in ARLIS.